A Message from your Conference Co-Chairs

Flinders University and the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) are pleased to bring you The Global Community Engaged Medical Education Muster Conference (The Muster) in Mount Gambier this October.

The Muster is the sixth in a series of biannual conferences that bring together an international audience to explore and discuss community engaged medical education and research, Aboriginal health, longitudinal learning and social accountability in healthcare training. We are also pleased to be hosting the CLIC (Consortium of Integrated Clerkships) Conference as part of The Muster 2018. We are proud to partner with the Federation of Australian Medical Educators (FRAME), University of Wollongong, CLIC, James Cook University and THEnet (Training for Health Equity Network), and value their input to this Conference.

Hosting between 200 and 300 delegates, this Conference will be of interest to educators, researchers, students and healthcare practitioners.

In the spirit of putting the community in the driving seat, the conference is set to be held in the heart of Mount Gambier utilising many of the city’s central facilities and local businesses. This immersion will provide plenty of opportunity for delegates to engage with and experience the local community.

This year The Muster strives to explore how community engaged medical education can empower communities to improve their health and patient care through the themes of: People and Communities; Longitudinal and Integrated Training; Culture and Wellbeing and Rural Workforce. A wide variety of educational formats are on offer including posters, PeArLs, podium presentations and plenaries.

We will kick off with two fabulous “Conference on the Move” options on the beautiful Kangaroo Island and Broken Hill regions prior to the beginning of proceedings in Mount Gambier.

Finally, we hope that you can join us for the gala dinner that will celebrate 10 years of THEnet.

We look forward to seeing you in October to experience the next unforgettable chapter in this series of conferences.

Your co-chairs,

Dr Leesa Walker                                Dr Deborah Smith
Flinders University                             Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM)


Organising Working Group Members

Co-Chairs  Leesa Walker (Flinders University)
Deborah Smith (NOSM)
Conference Management / Admin Support Rob Stafford (Flinders University)
Organising Working Group

Flinders University

University of Wollongong

Elsa Barton (Co-Chair Scientific Working Group)
Jacqui Michalski (Chair Social Working Group)
Kat Cameron (Chair Marketing Working Group)
Meredith Peters (Chair Operations Working Group)
Naomi Thomas (Co-Chair Conference on the Move Working Group)
Vanessa Ryan (Co-Chair Conference on the Move Working Group)
Donna Quinn
Emma Kennedy
Jennene Greenhill
Kathryn Sylvia
Lucie Walters

David MacLean (Co-Chair Scientific Working Group)
Penny Moody-Corbett (Co-Chair Scientific Working Group)
Ed Hirvi

David Garne (Co-Chair Scientific Working Group and Conference on the Move Working Group)